Fear Makes a Poor Master

The question that has plagued my mind since I began to take this writing thing seriously is “When should I publish?” Asking ten of my closest friends brings thirteen different answers. I tend to be my own worst critic. When I look at what I have written and compare it to the stories I enjoy reading, I don’t feel like mine rise to the same level. Don’t get me wrong, I think people could enjoy what I have written, but I still need to grow in my skill.

Part of me feels like if my work is not up to my own standard then I shouldn’t be trying to sell it. But another part of me feels like stories are written to be read and to have them sit on my hard drive is a waste of creativity. And another part of me feels hungry and wants people to buy my stories so that I can eat Chik-Fil-A and sushi every day.

In the end, I realized that I have not chosen to publish yet because of fear. I’m afraid that people will think I’m not a good writer. I’m afraid people will try to lock me into a genre. I’m afraid someone will regret spending .99 for my words and that the hours I spent crafting them will have been a waste. But fear is rarely rational. And it makes a horrible master. So I have published my first book and kicked fear in the balls. If you have read this far then let me ask one last thing of you. If you buy my book, tell me what you think. Be honest. I want to learn and grow still. And I want sushi.

You can purchase A Skip in Time here or by clicking on the image at the right of the screen.

6 thoughts on “Fear Makes a Poor Master

  1. I bought your book. Thank you for being vulnerable and sharing how you felt about it. It’s incredibly inspiring. Good luck and congratulations!

  2. Pingback: There is Always Hope | Imahni

  3. First off, congrats big time – you’ve taken a step that I’m still dithering around!
    Hope your book does well.
    Reading this post was such a deja-vu-ish moment though, so much of it resonated in my mind and likely many of us writer-types who are never close to good enough in our minds no matter how many people tell us otherwise – in the long run I think that can be a good thing because it keeps you working to be better and never get lazy.
    Kudos and cheers buddy!

Your turn.

