True Love

My Dearest Love,

The long winter is gone and my heart is slowly returning to life. I am overwhelmed with excitement as our time together draws near. When we are apart, I am only a shell of man. I don’t want you to think that I have chosen you just because no one else would have me. I know what I want and it is you. I just hate that I will never be able to buy you a diamond bigger than the one you already have.

Some people may question our age difference, but their looks will only serve as a reminder that love is blind. I may be quite a bit younger, but I have a wise soul. And my soul could no more pick another than a fish could climb a tree.

Your absence has showed my how much I need you in my life. Your strengths make me a better man. I am drawn to live chaotically, but your schedule helps bring order to my life. You’ve shown me how hard work and discipline will lead to success, but also that failure is part of life and only helps us to learn and get better.

I know that in the past I have let me anger get the best of me. I have yelled and thrown things and stormed out, but please understand that a love this deep cannot be separated from passion. I cannot promise that I will never again get angry or scream at you, but I will always return and be the first to say I’m sorry.

I wish your father were still alive. I would have loved to meet him. I have so many questions about what you were like when you were young! I wonder what he would think if he could see you today.

You return to me in less than a week so I will save the rest of my words until I can see you with my own eyes. My heart beats quicker every time I think of hearing those two words, “Play ball!” I love you baseball.

Impatiently Waiting,

Adam

Copyright Ā© 2012 Adam Drake

16 comments

  1. Yay! I figured out it was a riddle at “age difference”. I think I’m catching on. šŸ™‚ Haha, the ending reminds me of that famous clip at the beginning of Who’s on First? where Lou Costello says, “I love baseball.” Good job!

      1. Hahaha!! Yeah, I know…I was just kidding when I said that I hoped I could find someone that would make me feel that way.

        Also, you’re very very sweet. Thank you so much. Made my day. šŸ™‚

  2. The love for a sport is as love for a women. You dream bout it, you love it and you hate. But we always come back to it. We take the memories with us good and bad it always has a place in our lives. Good job.

Your turn.

